Seward, Alaska

Flying standby is always an interesting part of the journey. After making the flight by the skin of our teeth (me in the jumpseat for 6 hours), my friend Pete and I were on our way to Alaska. Pete, a Seward native, decided on a trip to his hometown after not being able to get on our flight to Ecuador. Between having a local tour guide, and getting the chance to see the most foreign place in the US, it didn’t take much convincing. Alaska was set.

We landed in Anchorage around 11pm local time, however due to the season it was just as light out as if it were the early afternoon. We stealthily snuck into Seward where Pete could surprise his family with a spontaneous visit.

IMG_5632

The next day we were up early and went on a hike to see the Harding Ice Field. We spent four hours climbing through various terrains to get to the 3,500ft high peak. We climbed over rivers and through snow across 8 miles in total to see the breathtaking views of Marmot Meadows and Exit Glacier. I was in complete bliss climbing through the fragrant flowers overlooking incredible vistas. I was too busy taking it all in that I couldn’t even complain about the intensity of the hike on my severely out of shape legs. We made it through the steep snowy peaks to the Harding Ice Field before we slid our way (me mostly on my butt) back down to the bottom.

IMG_5655

IMG_5660

IMG_5678Look at this stud of a tour guide ^^^

Once back in the city limits we ate some butt… Halibut that is! We got a bucket of butt at Ray’s and went to see the Sea Life Center, a local research center/aquarium. There we saw a plethora of native species, including the enormous Stellar Sea Lions and a few species of puffins. Having worked at an aquarium for a few years in college, my inner marine bio nerd was in heaven. It is amazing to me how animals can not only survive in the cold Alaskan climate but thrive in it.

IMG_5685.JPG

IMG_5791.JPG(p.s. Seward is also the mural capital of Alaska. Sure does make for some fine, touristy moments)

We spent our evening drinking beer and catching up with Petes friends.

The next day we went whale watching on Captain Tim’s catamaran, Calista Voyager. It helps having a native as a tour guide, especially when his dad is a captain on a whale watching ship. Captain Tim is just as charismatic as he is knowledgeable about his native Alaskan animals. We saw numerous puffins, porpoises, sea birds, breaching humpbacks, and orcas (including a pod with a baby!)!!! We had an incredible view of the scenic backdrops due to some flawless weather despite the abysmal forecast. The 6 hour long tour kept me on my toes as I ran back and forth between the two sides of the boat trying to take in everything. Before finishing the tour we went to view the massive Aialik glacier where we got up close and personal with the ice. We could see the chunks falling into the sea, revealing the bright teal blue fissures. It was amazing to hear the glacier crackle and moan as ice shift.

IMG_5699.JPG

IMG_5779.JPG

IMG_5777.JPG

IMG_5767.JPG

After our long day of whale watching, we were met by a tasty homemade dinner of halibut, asparagus and onion dip. After spending months living like a nomad, this simple gesture of a home cooked dinner was long over due, and much appreciated. Pete and his family truly made me feel at home, despite being hundreds of miles away.

After our bellies were filled with tasty food, we set out to meet up with some friends for a bonfire by the bay. The eternal summer sunlight will always be strange for me. A midnight bonfire with mid day sunlight does not help the minimal jet lag I had to begin with. However, I will never complain that it is TOO beautiful out, or that the summer days are TOO long.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The following day we slept in late and Pete went to help a friend in preparation for the very first Alaskan pool party, while I went on a hike to Lost Lake with his lovely mom.

An Alaskan Pool/Frat party is unlike any other. The pool dug from the earth, with earth walls surrounding imported stream water.  The heating mechanism was a steel drum filled with wood, gasoline and fire for a few hours before the start of the party. I may be adventurous however I didn’t feel the need to freeze my booty off for the sake of a party. Maybe next time.

IMG_5788

Overall, Alaska was an adventure that reminded me how charming small towns and home living can be. Thank you to Pete and the rest of the family (Kiska included) for making me feel not just at home, but as if I were part of the family and part of the community. ❤

Leave a comment